About Fulton County

County Facts

  • Established - Act: April 1, 1850
  • 2010 population - 42,698
  • County seat - City of Wauseon
  • Land area - 406.8 square miles
  • Named for - Robert Fulton, inventor of the steam boat


Fulton was one of the last counties to be organized in Ohio. It was made up of parts of Lucas, Henry, Defiance and Williams counties, and the State of Michigan. The Michigan state line was moved north about seven miles following the Toledo War, which was a dispute between the two states as to who owned Toledo. It was given to Ohio in 1840.


Fulton County is located on the Michigan border in the northwest portion of the state. Interstate Highways 80 and 90, U.S. Route 20, and State Route 2 cross the county east to west, and State Routes 64, 66, 108, and 109 run north to south. The Tiffin River flows through Fulton County.


Major attractions in Fulton County include: